National Honours


Honours are given to people who have made achievements in public life, committed themselves to serving and helping Britain. They will usually have made life better for other people, have made a difference to their community or be outstanding in what they do. They will come from all walks of life and all sections of society.

There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution

Anyone can nominate someone for an honour

The honours list is announced twice a year on The Queen's official birthday and on New Year's Eve. The presentation of awards usually takes place at an investiture at Buckingham Palace. In some circumstances however the Lord-Lieutenant may be asked to present the award locally on behalf of The Queen

Find out more and How to Apply

  • For examples of achievements and types of activities for which honours are given
  • The types of honours and awards given
  • How to apply

Visit the website

For any further information and advice contact the Lieutenancy office